Appointment of Non-Executive Director

Helen Mahy CBE has been appointed a non-Executive Director of SSE plc and will join the Board of the company on 1 March 2016.

Helen is Chair of The Renewables Infrastructure Group Limited.  She is also a non-Executive Director of SVG Capital plc, Bonheur ASA / Ganger Rolf ASA and Stagecoach Group plc.  She was previously Group Company Secretary and General Counsel of National Grid plc.  

When Helen takes up her appointment, the Board of SSE plc will comprise the Chairman, six non-Executive Directors and two Executive Directors.

Richard Gillingwater CBE, Chairman of SSE plc, said:
“I am very pleased that Helen will be joining the Board, because she will bring depth of knowledge from her career in the energy industry and breadth of outlook from the work she now does with a range of other organisations.  I am sure she will make a substantial contribution to the work of the Board and its Committees in the coming years.”

The company confirms that there is no further information required to be disclosed pursuant to paragraph 9.6.13 of the UK Listing Rules.