Our team

SSE's team of nearly 20,000 employees is led by the main Board of Directors and by a an Executive Committee created to deliver the strategy and decisions agreed by the Board and to lead operational management of our businesses.

The Board

The Board is accountable to its shareholders for the good conduct of SSE's business. Our Board is made up of the Chairman, independent non-Executive Directors and Executive Directors. It is specifically responsible for things like approving the company's strategy, budget, major investments and overall governance.

The Board comprises two Executive Directors and five non-Executive Directors plus the Chairman. Female representation is 25%. The Davies Review into Women on Boards recommended FTSE 100 Boards should aim for a minimum of 25% of female representation by 2015.

We will continue to appoint Executive and non-Executive Directors to ensure diversity of background and on the basis of their skills and experience.

The Board

Lord Smith of Kelvin - Chairman

Robert joined the Board as a non-Executive Director in June 2003 and became Chairman in January 2005.

He is also: a non-Executive Director of Standard Bank Group Ltd; Chairman of Glasgow 2014 Ltd, the organising committee for the Commonwealth Games; Chairman of UK Green Investment Bank plc; and Chancellor of Strathclyde University. 

Robert is Chairman of the Nomination Committee and a member of the Remuneration Committee.

Alistair Phillips-Davies - Chief Executive

Alistair became Chief Executive of SSE on 1 July 2013. He has a degree in Natural Sciences and is a qualified Chartered Accountant.

He has worked in the energy industry since 1997, when he joined Southern Electric. He was appointed to the Board of SSE as Energy Supply Director in 2002 and was appointed Deputy Chief Executive in 2012.

As Chief Executive, he leads the Executive Committee and the rest of the SSE team in
the day-to-day running and operations of SSE and is responsible for implementing the strategy and policy set by the Board. He also has Board-level responsibility for Human Resources and Corporate Affairs.

Gregor Alexander - Finance Director

Gregor was appointed Finance Director in 2002, having previously been Group Treasurer and Tax Manager. He has worked in the energy industry since 1990, when he joined Scottish Hydro Electric.

He has Board-level responsibility for Procurement and Logistics, Risk and Assurance, Investor Relations, Corporate Business Services, Finance and IT. He is Chairman of SGN, in which SSE has a 50% stake, and is a non-Executive Director of Stagecoach Group plc.

Richard Gillingwater - Senior Independent Director

Richard joined the Board in May 2007. He is non-Executive Director and Chairman Designate of Henderson Group plc and non-Executive Director of CDC Group plc, Helical Bar plc and Wm Morrison Supermarkets plc.

He is a Senior Independent Director of Hiscox Ltd. Richard is a member of the Audit, Remuneration and Nomination Committees.

Jeremy Beeton - non-Executive Director

Jeremy joined the Board as non-Executive director in July 2011. He is a member of the Court of Strathclyde University, was the Director General of the UK Government Olympic Executive and was previously also Principal Vice President of Bechtel Ltd, where he had responsibility for management and delivery of Bechtel’s worldwide civil engineering projects in infrastructure and aviation business lines. He is also non-Executive Director at the A Proctor Group.

He is a member of the Audit Committee and the Safety, Health and Environment Advisory Committee.

Katie Bickerstaffe - non-Executive Director

Katie joined the Board as non-Executive director in July 2011. She is Chief Executive Uk and Ireland Dixons Retail Group Plc.

She was previously Group People, Marketing and Property Director of DSG International, Managing Director of Kwik Save, and Group Retail Director and Group HR Director at Somerfield.

Her earlier career included roles at Dyson, Pepsi Co and Unilever. She is a member of the Remuneration Committee and the Nomination Committee.

Sue Bruce - non-Executive Director

Sue Bruce joined the Board as a non-Executive Director in September 2013. She is Chief Executive of the City of Edinburgh Council.

Previously she was Chief Executive of Aberdeen City Council and East Dunbartonshire Council. She is a member of the Safety Heath and Environment Advisory Committee.

Peter Lynas - non-Executive Director

Peter Lynas joined the Board as a non-Executive Director in July 2014. He is the Group Finance Director of BAE Systems plc and a member of the BAE Systems Inc Board in the US.

Previously he was a Board director of Marconi's European joint venture companies, Alenia Marconi Systems and Matra Marconi Space, and has been a Chairman of the trustee board of a major pension scheme.